The Box Office is suspended pending Gov. Raimondo's decision on our proposed Safety & Social Distancing Plan.

Reopening Wait List - Sign Up Here for Tailgate / Chalet / Pavilion availability alerts.


2010 Individual Achievement Awards Announced

Date:    Saturday, October 23, 2010

Congratulations to:

 • George Day, recipient of the 2010 Sportsmanship Award

 • Bridget Torrey, recipient of the 2010 Most Improved Player Award

The recipients of the Newport Polo Club’s annual Sportsmanship Award and Most Improved Player Award were named at the end-of-season Players Dinner.  In traditional fashion, members of the Newport Polo Club distinguish two individuals from among their peers for achievement and performance in the sport of polo over the course of the past season.

Most Improved Player - the player who demonstrated the greatest improvement over the course of the season, compared to their level of play in the previous season, and overall improvement above their previous level of play, independent of the player's USPA handicap rating.  The most votes went to Bridget Torrey.

Sportsmanship Award - the player who demonstrated the highest form of sportsmanship and good character on and off the field.  The most votes went to George Day.

The perpetual silver bowls bearing the names of the newest and all past recipients were presented on the occasion.  Past recipients of the Most Improved Player Award are: Paul Rice (’04), Wayne Gordon (’05), Sam Shore (’06), Jonas Mikolich (’07), Minnie Keating (’08) and Heather Rasulis ('09).  Past recipients of the Sportsmanship Award are: Jim Zynsky (’04), Jonathan Kaye/Jim Zynsky (’05), Jackie Shore/Jim Zynsky (’06) Jonathan Kaye (’07), Steve Smith (’08) and Dave Carrington ('09).