Welcome Visitors!  The Box Office is open for 2020.


Newport Polo Club's Annual Awards for Individual Achievement

Date:    Saturday, November 19, 2011

The winners of the Newport Polo Club’s annual Sportsmanship Award and Most Improved Player award were named at the end-of-season Players Dinner. 

In traditional fashion, the players distinguish two individuals from among their peers for achievement and performance in the sport of polo over the course of the past season.

Most Improved Player - the player who demonstrated the greatest improvement over the course of the season, compared to their level of play in the previous season.  The most votes went to Julie DeAngelis.

Sportsmanship Award - the player who demonstrated the highest form of sportsmanship and good character on and off the field.  The most votes went to Jim DeAngelis.

It is the first time in club history that both awards went to the same family, spouses in this case.  The perpetual silver bowls bearing the names of the newest and all past recipients were presented on the occasion.  Past recipients of the Most Improved Player Award are: Paul Rice (’04), Wayne Gordon (’05), Sam Shore (’06), Jonas Mikolich (’07), Minnie Keating (’08), and Heather Rasulis (’09) and Bridget Torrey (’10).  Past recipients of the Sportsmanship Award are: Jim Zynsky (’04), Jonathan Kaye/Jim Zynsky (’05), Jackie Shore/Jim Zynsky (’06) Jonathan Kaye (’07) Steve Smith (’08), Dave Carrington (’09) and George Day (’10).