Welcome Visitors!  The Box Office is open for 2020.


2013 Sportsmanship and Most Improved Player Awards Announced

Date:    Monday, November 4, 2013

Newport Polo’s annual Sportsmanship Award and Most Improved Player Award were announced earlier this month at the Players Dinner at Clarke Cooke House in Newport.   Congratulations to Chip Stiegler, chosen by his peers to receive the 2013 Sportsmanship Award, and to Sam Clemens, voted the Most Improved Player this season.  

Also recognized were our 2013 Sponsors, this year’s Best Playing Ponies, Polo Manager Dave Markell, Tailgate Judge Patrick Jardon and others in the list below.  It was a festive celebration and last dance in the Skybar this year!

Raise a glass in appreciation of our 2013 sponsors

Alex and Ani, our Pavilion Sponsor     ♦   BMW, our Presenting Sponsor      ♦  KPMG   ♦   Newport Daily News ♦   the Newport Beach Club and the Tower at the Carnegie Abbbey  Club ♦  Hyatt Regency Newport, Vanderbilt International Properties  and Pearls Boutique Hotels, our International Team Sponsors    ♦  Lufthansa   ♦ Shreve Crump & Low  ♦  Rockstar Limo  ♦  Hinckley Allen  ♦ Champagne Nicolas Feuillate  ♦ McGrath Clambakes  ♦  Boston Common Magazine and the Equine Journals  ♦  Vita Coco

Congratulations to the 2013 Best Playing Ponies & their lenders:

Fleur Loaned to Argentina by P Friedman  ♦     Princess Loaned to Scotland by S Still

Tinkerbelle Loaned to Ireland by PFriedman ♦ Yum Yum Loaned to Spain by PFriedman

Media Dora Loaned to Italy by C Stiegler  ♦    Xanti Loaned to Jamaica by J DeAngelis

Pepper Loaned to England by D Keating  ♦  Geronimo Loaned to Mexico by H Souto

Polo Manager Appreciation We offer our most heartfelt appreciation to Dave Markell for his tireless efforts, all year long.

International Polo Charity Ball: Newport Polo thanks the 2013 Gala AmbassadorsPeter Friedman and Gene Kennedy, and Junior Ambassador Laurel Howe, and auction committee volunteers Bridget Torrey, Martha Russo, Leah Cahn,Kelly Powers and others from the Hope Funds for Cancer Research for their time and energy, and all our attendees without whom the event would not be successful.